Is Hasselblad launching a new camera tomorrow to celebrate its 80th birthday?

0

Hasselblad could launch a new H-System camera tomorrow – or at least that’s our wishful thinking, after watching the manufacturer’s new teaser video.

Entitled “Beyond Classic”, the teaser is dated September 28, 2021 with 1:00 p.m. CEST – it’s tomorrow at 7:00 a.m. EST / 12:00 p.m. BST / 9:00 p.m. AEST.

The video appears to show a lens barrel featuring the “H” cutout pattern that matches the design language of the Hasselblad H system, with a short reveal of a Hasselblad badge similar to the one on the side of classically shaped bodies like the Hasselblad 907X.

• Find out more: The best medium format cameras

So it seems reasonable to assume that this is part of the H System product line, rather than a successor to the Hasselblad X1D II 50C. So what exactly could this look like?

For those unfamiliar with the Hasselblad product lines, the H System is the premium series of professional medium format DSLR cameras from the manufacturer. And unlike the company’s System X or the Fujifilm GFX line, these cameras boast true medium format sensors, which are larger than the cropped sensors seen in the likes of the Fujifilm GFX 100S.

“The highly professional H-System represents the ultimate in image quality and resolution with 100 and 400 megapixel solutions,” says Hasselblad’s official blurb.

“Fully modular in design, the H-System cameras can be easily combined with multiple accessories, lenses and backs, providing flexibility and convenience for a range of photographic needs. “

The current king of the H series is the Hasselblad H6D-400C – a $ 48,000 / £ 43,500 camera capable of producing massive 400 MP images, albeit thanks to pixel shift technology. Could we see a successor to the 400C, with a brand new camera back?

Could Hasselblad even bring the mirrorless revolution to the H system and give us a mirrorless version of the 100C or 400C? With the announcement in 24 hours, we won’t have to wait long to find out …

Read more:

Hasselblad 907X review
Hasselblad X1D II review
Hasselblad X1D review
The best Hasselblad glasses


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.